January 10, 2024

To: Members of the Friends of the Sacramento Public Library

Re: Combined Annual Meeting (Elections)

The Friends of the Sacramento Public Library (FSPL) Annual Meeting will take place on **Sunday, February 25, 2024, at 1:00 p.m.**, in person at the Sierra 2 Center for the Arts and Community, Curtis Hall, located at 2791 24th St., Sacramento, CA. All members are encouraged to attend to help determine the future course of our organization. This meeting will also serve as one of our regular All Friends Meetings.

It is at this meeting that Directors and Officers of the FSPL Board for 2024 are elected, by members present and voting. Our bylaws require that the Nominating Committee report its recommendations for these positions to the membership in advance of the meeting. This letter outlines the election process to be followed at the Annual Meeting and the Nominating Committee recommendations.

Election of Board of Directors

Our by-laws state that there will be a minimum of 9 and a maximum of 15 members of the Board of Directors and that they will serve staggered terms to ensure continuity.

The Nominating Committee makes the following report and presents its slate of nominees for the board member positions for the two-year term, ending January 2026. The Nominating Committee also presents its slate of nominees for the officer positions for the 2024 year.

There are six returning FSPL Directors whose terms run through January of 2025, who therefore will not be up for election at the Annual Meeting. They are:

- Fred Dobb
- Gillian Friess
- Chris Pavao

- Chris Wagner
- Norval Wellsfry
- Pam Whiteley

There are seven Director positions with two-year terms which run from January 2022 to January 2024. Six of the current Directors whose terms are expiring in January 2024 have agreed to serve for an additional two years, and the Nominating Committee recommends that they be re-elected at the Annual Meeting. The members recommended for re-election are:

- Sandra Gallardo
- Devon Graves
- Doreathea Johnson

- Jeannie Lee Jones
- Rachael Kaldor
- Anita Scuri

In addition to the vacancy created with board member Farr's decision not to seek another term, there are two vacancies created by the mid-year resignations of two members: Katherine McMillan and Erin VanderSchaaf, whose terms will expire 1/2025.

The Nomination Committee has identified one candidate to fill these vacant positions and the Committee recommends that they be elected at the Annual Meeting. The candidate recommended for election is:

Debbi Burnett

Additional nominations can be taken from the floor by any member, provided the consent of the nominee has been secured. Voting for Directors will then take place.

The six returning Directors, six current Directors proposed for re-election and one new Director proposed for election result in a total of thirteen Directors, leaving two unfilled vacancies.

Election of FSPL Board Officers:

Officers of the FSPL Board are elected for one-year terms. The Nominating Committee recommends the following slate of officers for the term January 2024 – January 2025:

President:Anita ScuriVice-President:Rachel KaldorSecretary:Gillian FriessTreasurer:Chris Pavao

Additional nominations may be made from the floor by any member, provided the consent of the nominee has been secured. Voting for board officers will then take place.

An agenda for the All Friends portion of the meeting will be provided in advance of the meeting.

Respectfully submitted,
Nominating Committee
Doreathea Johnson, Chair
Pam Whiteley, Member



Non-profit permit imprint

828 I Street Ste. 408

Sacramento, CA 95814

Return Service Requested